Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 02:25:08 PM
Pages: [1] 2 Last »   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Detailing on a budget?  (Read 9476 times)
ikethegreat

Reputation Power: 24
ikethegreat who is this guy?ikethegreat who is this guy?
Trade Count: (0)

View Profile
« on: December 08, 2009, 10:47:36 AM »

I'm basically a detailing beginner.  I've been reading up on various techniques and products, on this site and others, but I'm still not sure what exactly I should get.  I'd like whatever I buy to be good for 3-4 good detailing sessions or roughly 1 year.  I hand wash my car every week or two but I don't have the time or patience to do more then 3-4 extensive detailing sessions a year.  Oh and I'm mainly worried about exterior/paint care, not interior or wheel care.

Here is a list of what I already own:
DP auto extreme foam car wash
Maguire's gold class car wash
Foam gun (waiting for it to arrive)
Two bottles of Wet Paint
Mother's California Gold Carnauba Cleaner Wax
A bag of microfiber towels from Walmart
A bag of terry cloth towels from Walmart
Absorber synthetic drying chamois

When I do any detailing, I typically just wash -> dry -> Wet Paint or the Mother's wax if I'm in the mood.

Lets say I have around $100 to spend, what would you recommend?  I was looking at this kit.  Only thing I don't like is that there is no clay kit included which I kind of wanted and with the price of this kit, I wouldn't have money left in the budget for a clay kit.
Mike
Farts Dust

Fan Boys Anonymous

Reputation Power: 95
Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!Mike is a pimp among pimps!
Trade Count: (5)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 10:54:08 AM »

I would suggest this kit, they also have some specials going on for the Holidays(posted in the deals section)