Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 03, 2024, 09:18:17 AM
Pages: [1] 2 Last »   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Got screwed by audio shop, where to go from here?  (Read 9157 times)
ikethegreat

Reputation Power: 24
ikethegreat who is this guy?ikethegreat who is this guy?
Trade Count: (0)

View Profile
« on: November 14, 2011, 01:29:08 PM »

So the week after I bought my car brand spanking new four years ago, I took my car into the audio shop.  I was a car noob at this point (not much has really changed)  and didn't want to tear up by brand new accord trying to install a sound system.  So I purchased a pair of 6x9s for the rear and a set of polk component speakers for the front doors.  I gave all the speakers to this local audio shop and let them take care of it.  I got it back after the install and everything sounded good and I was happy.

Fast forward four years and as of last week I noticed my passenger side speaker sounded like shit.  So I took the door panel off and sure enough, the speaker was blown.  Then I went to unscrew the speaker so I could toss it out.  That's when I noticed this tar like shit around the outer edge of the speaker.  I had never seen it before but I thought oh well and just peeled it off and took the speaker off. 

Fast forward to today.  I have a new set of polk component speakers on the way so I figured on my lunch break I would pop off the tweeter grills and see what kinda shape they were in.  I planned to replace both door speakers and both tweeters when my new set arrived so I thought I would get a head start removing the tweeters.  After I removed the tweeter grills, that is when the fun started. 

Here is what I found when I opened the driver's side tweeter grill.

Yay! More tar!

Not only did they mount it only with tar (nothing is holding it down but the tar), but they mounted it sideways pointing towards the center of the dash.  Fucking awesome!